CASA Superhero Run

Chatterbox, who dressed as Batman,  and I ran in the CASA Superhero Run this past weekend and had a blast. I ran with him for his 1K, which he ran the whole way, I was so proud. I actually skipped my 5K because he was having so much fun with the arts and crafts, snacking, photo-taking,  and all goings on under the hanger. Luckily, just like last year, it was cloudy and cool. Unfortunately, I didn’t take many photos, we got too caught up in all the fun.

Me and Chatterbox after the 1K

I surprised myself by picking up our packets ahead of time, something I never do, but it allowed us to sleep in and avoid a very long line when we arrived. I didn’t expect the Hubs to bring Hugs along, which they opted to stay home. However, there were several parents walking their toddlers through the 1K so next year I think I will drag him along too.

I didn’t even have a cape to run in this year, so next year’s goal is get myself totally decked out. There are two ways to go, a traditional superhero costume, or an invented superhero.

What is CASA?

CASA of Travis County speaks up for children who have been abused or neglected by empowering our community to volunteer as advocates for them in the court system. Their popular slogan for their annual Superhero race: “Every child needs a hero, but abused children need superheros!”

Once I live and work in the same city I am so going to volunteer!

Leave a Reply

